OverviewNearbyReviewsWin Prizes

France Consulate Former Site

4.5/5
23 Reviews
"Historical Architecture"
Open Open 24 hours
Recommended sightseeing time:10-15 minutes
Address:Beibuwan Middle Rd, Haicheng Qu, Beihai Shi, Guangxi Zhuangzuzizhiqu, China
Map

What travelers say:

Traveling in Beihai, visited the former site of the French Consulate in Beihai at the Beihai Guest House. The French Consulate in Beihai was built in 1890 as a material evidence of the establishment of a diplomatic institution by France in Beihai City, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region. The current site is located in Beihai Guest House. It is a one-story Western-style building with a cloister. The Lanhe beside the corridor is installed with antique blue The color flower vase and feldspar slats are elegant and gorgeous. There is an octagonal water tower at the northwest corner of the pavilion. A corner stone of the "Greater French Consulate" inscribed in Chinese and French is inlaid under the front corner. The indoor facilities are complete, including office, billiard room, living room, dining room, bedroom, bathroom and fireplace. From the exterior arch voucher carvings to the elegant interior settings, as well as the camphor woods and evergreen flowers and plants planted around, all show the style and exoticism of European classical gardens. After the end of the Sino-French War, France set up a consulate in Beihai in the thirteenth year of Guangxu (1887), first renting private houses for office. In the 16th year of Guangxu (1890), France bought land in Beihai to build a French consulate. From 1887 to 1950, France set up a consulate in Beihai for 62 years. There were 19 chief and deputy consuls. The first (deputy) consul was Andy, and the last consul was Gao Yahui. The long-term opening of the French Consulate in Beihai has a great relationship with the development of the French shipping industry in Beihai Port. According to reports, after the French consulate withdrew in March 1950, the old site was used by the Qinzhou Prefectural Committee and the Beihai Municipal Committee successively. Due to the beautiful environment of the former French consulate, the indoors are warm in winter and cool in summer, and the facilities are complete, which is very suitable for recuperation and hotels. In the spring of 1954, Tao Zhu, then secretary of the South China Branch of the Communist Party of China, visited Beihai and stayed at the former French consulate. In 1955, the famous democrat Chen Mingshu stayed at the old site. In March 1956, it became a retreat for officials in Guangdong Province. At the end of 1958, it was built as the Beihai Guest House in Hepu County. In 1962, Tian Han, a Chinese cultural celebrity, also stayed there. In 1973, the original French consulate was converted into a two-story Yingbin building. After Beihai became an open coastal city in 1984, the building was renamed Beihai Hotel. In 1985, it was renamed Beihai Guest House. The former French consulate after reconstruction was called "Building No. 5". From 1980 to 1998, Hu Yaobang, Gu Mu, Qiao Shi, Jiang Zemin, Wan Li, Song Ping, Li Peng, Zhu Rongji, Li Lanqing, Li Ruihuan, Wei Jianxing and other party and state leaders visited Beihai, and they all stayed in this building. At the end of the 20th century, Building 5 became the famous Yingbin Building in Beihai. The building has also received foreign guests from the former Danish Prime Minister Hartling (1981) and the United States, Britain, France and other countries on five continents. Because the former site of the French consulate has important historical value, it is now a national key cultural relics protection unit.

More

Located Nearby

Reviews
Some reviews may have been translated by Google Translate
Write a Review
/5Outstanding
All (23)
Latest
Positive (19)
Photos (7)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5