Basilica di Santa Maria Novella was the first church in Florence. It was also the base of the Dominican Order. The wonderful fresco inside, "The Holy Trinity", was created by Masaccio with an analogy technique. This ancient church was also under the protection of the House of Medici.
The Cathedral of Santa Maria Novella is located opposite Florence's largest railway station, so the train station is also named New Virgin Mary Train Station S.M.Novella. The church was called the "new" Virgin Mary because it was built on the foundation of the 9th century Madonna Prayer. This church is the first Pontifical church in Florence. It is different from the Basilica of the Holy Cross, which is the main church of the Dominican sect. The church was refurbished and expanded by members of the Dominican Church on the basis of the original Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary in 1221 and designed by the famous genius architect Leon Battista Alberti during the Renaissance. The faade with white marble, this absolutely symmetrical appearance and the design of the rounded colorful windows above have influenced the architectural style of the later Baroque and Gothic churches. Green and white stripes often used in wall decoration aristocratic tombs. The same design is also found in the wall adjacent to the cemetery.
This church, along with the adjoining monastery, generously donated to the most important family in Florence, and has a collection of priceless art treasures, especially known for the Gothic and early Renaissance masters' murals.