The Chiayi Garage Park was formerly known as "Beimen Repair Workshop" during the Japanese Occupation. The original site was located at the North Gate Depot when the flat area was opened to traffic in October 1910. With the construction of the railway, it was gradually expanded and opened in the first year of Taisho (1912). The main work is the construction and repair of various types of locomotives, passenger cars and freight cars on the Alishan Railway, which has a history of nearly 100 years.
Alishan Railway is well-known. Along the railway, there are numerous trails for walking and walking.