The Customs House is a landmark building in Dublin. It is located on the Liffey River. Now this building is not a Customs House, but has become the Municipal Office Building of Dublin. But he is still a famous building on the Liffey River, very atmospheric, everyone must appreciate it.
The Custom House is often considered architecturally the most important building in Dublin and is sited on the river front with Beresford Place to the rear. The Custom House was the first major public building built in Dublin as an isolated structure with four monumental façades. The previous Custom House by Thomas Burgh and built in 1707 was sited up river at Essex Quay and was judged as unsafe just seventy years later. The site chosen for the new Custom House met with much opposition from city merchants who feared that its move down river would lessen the value of their properties while making the property owners to the east wealthier.
The Custom House has a large presence along the river in the center of Dublin.