Both the new and old Toronto City Halls are located in downtown Toronto, Ontario, Canada. They are the headquarters of the City of Toronto and one of the city's main landmarks. The new town hall, together with the former Nathan Phillips Square, was designed by the Finnish architect Viljo Revell and was commissioned in 1965 to replace the old town hall that was completed in 1899. The Toronto City Hall consists of three parts. The two buildings are curved in a curved arc, enveloping the middle of the parliament building, like a jellyfish with a beaded opening. The design is novel and unique. The East Building is 99.5 meters (326 feet) high with 27 floors, while the West Building is 79.4 meters (260 feet) high with 20 floors. Viewed from the sky, the entire town hall is like an eye, so people call it "-". Toronto's new town hall is adjacent to the old town hall, the old town hall retired as a court, and its quaint Richardson Roman-style stone architecture still attracts a lot of attention. Nowadays, the harmonious relationship between the old and new town halls represents the history of Toronto's growth and symbolizes Toronto's past and upcoming future. The Toronto City Hall is open to the public free of charge, and there are many local residents and tourists from all over the world visiting here every day. In the film Resident Evil 2, the building appeared in the movie as a scene of the Raccoon City Hall.
Posted: 3 Jan 2019
Related Moments
#holidayvacation #decembertravel#wintergetaway#merryxmas