The oldest stone church in the Philippines. The construction plan was approved in 1586. Construction began in 1587 and was completed in 1607 under the supervision of Augustine's father and Francisco Bastos. Fonso Perez, San Diego de Avila and his brother Aron went to Perea. Its architecture designer, Juan Masias-TECT, was Juan Masias. It has withstood many earthquakes since 1645 and survived the British invasion in 1762. In 1898, the American-Spanish War and Japan's invasion of China were also spared. 1942: The church choir has 68 carved Murafi seats with narrative inlays. Art LEC terns and parchment cantorals in the 17th and 18th centuries. During 1762, Britain occupied Manila and desecrated churches and graves. The ashes of the early Spanish conquerors, Riyashibi, El Salvador, lavezares, wish Pedro Banzuniga and others rest at the eastern end of the church. In 1898, the United States occupied Manila and made provisions for churches. The first Philippine plenary meeting was held here in 1952. In 1993, the Church of St. Augustine was chosen as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.