Download the App for Free
Within Australia 1800 861 122 Flight & Hotel Bookings: 24/7 Other Bookings: 09:00-18:00 (GMT+8)
Global Access Number +86 21 2226 8819 Flight & Hotel Bookings: 24/7 Other Bookings: 09:00-18:00 (GMT+8)
Top currencies
All currencies

Reviews about Santissimo Nome di Maria al Foro Traiano

Diane Austin

Reviewed on 4 Dec 2014

Erected in 113 to immortalize the very successful Emperor Trajan. The carvings, all 600 feet long wind up the 125 foot hollow column, tell the story of the conquest and capture of the gold rich Romanian based Dacian people. On top is a statue of St Peter ( added in 1588 after the gold covered one of Trajan was lost). Hard to get up to closely with traffic bustling around it. Originally the column stood between two tall libraries (one Greek, one Latin) so you could see the engravings from their upper stories. Now, go to the Museum of Roman history, or to London's Victoria and Albert Museum to study the plaster replicas up close. is part of Group Limited, one of the world's leading providers of travel services.
Skyscanner Trip