ibis Hong Kong Central and Sheung Wan Hotel

ibis Hong Kong Central and Sheung Wan Hotel Reviews

ibis Hong Kong Central and Sheung Wan Hotel

No.28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Central and Western District, Hong Kong, ChinaView Hotel Details
ibis Hong Kong Central and Sheung Wan Hotel
ibis Hong Kong Central and Sheung Wan Hotelibis Hong Kong Central and Sheung Wan Hotelibis Hong Kong Central and Sheung Wan Hotel
Check available rooms for your travel dates
We Price Match
1 night

ibis Hong Kong Central and Sheung Wan Hotel Guest Reviews

4.3/5
Very Good
2537 review
Verified reviews
Location4.4
Amenities4.1
Service4.3
Cleanliness4.3
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(2537)
Positive reviews(2379)
Reviews with photos/video(617)
Easy to get around(284)
Convenient location(278)
Nice sea view(266)
Close to metro(82)
Friendly front desk staff(57)
Perfect for business trips(56)
Tasty food(32)
Average towels(20)
Negative reviews(158)
aleksa77
Standard Queen City View Room
Stayed in Feb 2025
Couples
11 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 10, 2025
Best quality for reasonable price ! Clean and quiet, but also exceptionally well positioned.
Jessie1234
Standard Queen Harbour View
Stayed in Jan 2025
Couples
16 review
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 7, 2025
Want to start by saying this is the best view from a hotel I’ve ever had—genuinely incredible. The location is fine, about a 15 minute walk to central and 10 minutes from Sheung Wan metro stop. Few nice cafes and bars around too. The room is a decent size (especially for HK) so good value for money. A few things need improving: 1. The drain really smells after the toilets flushed and the shower or sink is used. 2. Bed is quite hard, recommend the mattress topper they provide. Much better. 3. The smoke detector is right above the bed and blinks throughout the night, can be quite annoying so bring an eye mask. 4. The key cards sometimes don’t work in the elevator to go up. Good value for money though!
Guest User
Standard Queen Harbour View
Stayed in Dec 2024
Couples
4 review
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 24, 2025
The location of the hotel is not close to MTR station. We took about 10 min walk to Sheung Wan MTR station. The door of the bathroom was very noisy and we called the front desk to arrange to fix it on day 1. However, it was not fixed. I called on day 2 and the problem was resolved.
Guest User
Standard Queen Harbour View
Stayed in Oct 2024
Couples
10 review
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Nov 10, 2024
Requested for a high floor room and got one at 28th floor. The harbour view is blocked by another building infront, but still get a nice harbour view. Not the cleanest room I stayed at, but overall still ok.
James David Warren
Standard Queen City View Room
Stayed in Feb 2025
Solo travellers
7 review
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on Apr 2, 2025
I’m a repeat client, this is usually where I stay. It seemed busier this time with queues for the elevator. I asked to pay for an upgrade and the front desk just said it was not possible. It’s a little difficult to believe because I wasn’t checking out until midweek. No flexibility, no creativity, just abrupt customer service.
Nelson Lui
Standard Queen City View Room
Stayed in Feb 2025
Business travellers
27 review
2.2/5
Posted on Mar 20, 2025
Everything is just "average". Consider the pricing and location, it is okay to stay for short trip.
Response from Property: Dear guest,Thank you for your rating and satisfaction with our pricing and location.At ibis we offer an economic product with the best service at the best price. We usually receive positive comments on our convenient location, harbour view from the room, efficient service and more, however we regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies. May I suggest you book a Harbour View Room which faces Hong Kong’s iconic Victoria Harbour next time for a more relaxed stay.Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.Kind Regards,Jennifer SiuHotel Operations Manager
Kayen Gen
Standard Queen City View Room
Stayed in Oct 2024
Family
8 review
3.7/5
Posted on Nov 7, 2024
It’s a bit far from mate station. But the service was great and
Susan
Standard Queen City View Room
Stayed in Feb 2025
Solo travellers
4 review
3.7/5
Posted on Mar 11, 2025
Very convenient location, easy access to anywhere by public transportation or by taxi. Walking distance to central for restaurants, cafe or bar.
Guest User
Standard Twin City View Room
Stayed in Feb 2025
Family
1 review
3.0/5
Posted on Mar 30, 2025
Dissappointing. Guest need to call since No water in the bathroom for flushing for 2 nights.
Response from Property: Dear guest,Thank you for your feedback.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the lack of water for flush in your bathroom. Please rest assured that our Engineering Team will investigate this matter and take corrective actions to ensure it does not happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to write to us. This sole case is certainly not the level of service we strive to provide. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a much better experience in the future.Kind Regards,Jennifer SiuHotel Operations Manager
Susana
Standard Twin City View Room
Stayed in Aug 2024
Family
28 review
4.2/5
Very Good
Posted on Sep 23, 2024
Good location. clean rooms...just expect it to be small
Matthias
Standard Twin Harbour View
Stayed in Dec 2024
Travel with friends
3 review
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on Jan 17, 2025
Very small rooms (typical for IBIS) - all in all if you just using it for sleeping, it's a great value hotel! Service was very friendly - it's not a hotel if you expect a rooftop lounge or bar... but for sleeping and traveling through, it's very good! 
Georgia Mae
Standard Twin City View Room
Stayed in Sep 2024
Travel with friends
22 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 30, 2024
Great hotel in a great location!
Guest User
Standard Queen City View Room
Stayed in May 2024
Solo travellers
2 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 26, 2024
The location is not only convenient but full of histories. The nearby street sells traditional Hong Kong goods such as Gingsen and dried seafood. If you spend 1 min waking down the Queens St and Queen’s Rd W, you’ll be taken to local fruit stores, tea restaurants, and convenient stores, etc. From there, you can go to subway stations, local parks, antique stores, and the famous Man Mo Temple. The nearby Hollywood Park was said to be the place where the British flag was raised in Hong Kong. The hotel room is quiet, clean, comfortable. My only complain is that the mattress was substantially harder than what I expected; if you are like me, you can get extra bedding that solves the problem in 15 mins.
Hui Ling
Standard Queen City View Room
Stayed in May 2024
Couples
1 review
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on Jun 25, 2024
Sarah assisted me to smoothly check in & she was friendly, patient & helpful. We have stayed in Ibis Sheung Wan for the 5th time. Convenient location. Mins walk to Sheung Wan & Sai Yin Pun MTR & tram stop jus 2mins away from hotel. Airport bus A11 is also nearby at Macau Ferry Terminal Stop. No frills room but are neat & clean. We'll usu request for a topper for the mattress as we find a little hard. Pillows also abit too high else everything is great! Thanks Team Ibis SW 🙏👍
R.A.Ng
Standard Queen City View Room
Stayed in Nov 2024
Family
3 review
1.5/5
Posted on Dec 16, 2024
Horrible experience with Ibis. While I would like to note that I am an ALL platinum member, I knowingly know that I won’t earn my points as I booked through Trip. But I would still expect the quality of Accor group would still be adhere to. Horrible cleanliness and lack of room amenities is just a joke. The fact that basic necessity is not even available. How much more environment friendly must ALL be with Ibis? Or is it just because it’s the cost of hotel which doesn’t entitle to basic necessities? And since when Ibis allow in hotel smoking? Stayed there 4 nights, cigarettes smell 4 nights. Disappointed at the response And the room quality is just gone. Aircond just goes knocking - I have video proof of the aircond if someone needs it
Response from Property: Dear guest,Thank you for your feedback and support as our platinum member.Regarding the cleanliness, I have informed our Housekeeping team about the situation that you encountered. Our Housekeeping Manager does ongoing checks and inspections of the rooms to ensure our cleanliness standards, however I am sorry if you were let down on this occasion. Regarding the amenities, due to the government regulations on disposable plastic tableware & other plastic products and as part of Accor’s sustainability commitment, the Hotel no longer places single-use amenities, such as bottled water, toothbrushes, cotton buds, etc. in rooms from 22 April 2024 onwards. We invite you to join us in our sustainability efforts with simple actions such as traveling with reusable daily necessities and kindly recommend utilizing the kettle provided in your room or refilling your bottles at the water dispenser located on the fifth floor. I can share with you that we are continually looking for ways to balance sustainability with guest comfort. Should you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our staff during your stay.I apologise for the inconvenience of the smoking smell, however all guest rooms are non-smoking with a notable non-smoking sign displayed in the room to inform any guest who smokes in the rooms or public areas will be charged HK$5,000. Please feel free to call our Duty Manager for assistance next time so that we can arrange an alternative room for you. For the air-conditioner, we have passed on your feedback to the Engineering Team for follow-up and checking. Rectifying actions will be carried out if necessary, however please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused. May we suggest you contact our staff promptly so as to provide timely assistance to you. Thank you again for taking the time to write to us. We hope the experience will not alter your confidence in our hotel and that you will allow us to welcome you again.Kind Regards,Jennifer SiuHotel Operations Manager